Jump to content


Photo

My new baby.


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Paladin Wizard

Paladin Wizard

    Divine Dragon god

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloriana
  • Interests:Women, Treasure, Battles, Spoils of War, Women, Arcane Items, Technological Items, and Women.

Posted 21 February 2011 - 08:11 AM

Ok, I've been kicking myself for not showing up more but I've been very preoccupied. It's been 7 years since I've bought a new PC. This is also the first one I've actually built from scratch for myself.

Core i7 2600K with a Noctua NH-U12P SE2 cooler.
Sapphire AMD HD 6970 2GB
WD Black Hard Drives: 2TB & 750GB
Gigabyte P67A-UD3 motherboard
Corsair Vengence (2 x 4GB) 1600 (8-8-8-24) memory
Cooler Master HAF 932 case.
Corsair HX1000 PSU
Killer 2100 NIC


Find QFG Import files here.


#2 Elsa Von Spielburg

Elsa Von Spielburg

    Founder/Webmaster

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,637 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cyprus

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:00 PM

Nice one! biggrin.gif

Gratz Wizard sweety! thumbs.gif

*tries to imagine World of Warcraft in full graphics* wink.gif

My name is Elsa Von Spielburg and I am a Paladin.

What kind of Hero Are You?

www.theschoolforheroes.com


#3 Paladin Wizard

Paladin Wizard

    Divine Dragon god

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloriana
  • Interests:Women, Treasure, Battles, Spoils of War, Women, Arcane Items, Technological Items, and Women.

Posted 23 February 2011 - 06:02 AM

I'm going to have to exchange my motherboard because of the recall. But yeah this could handle WoW pretty well. The best upgrade for WoW is actually an Intel SSD to install the game to. It allows such fast loading that you get smooth game play. A strong nic like my Killer 2100 or an Intel card also helps out.

Right now I'm playing Dragon Age Origins for the first time. I have such a big back log of games since my PC has been trash for so long.


Find QFG Import files here.


#4 Paladin Wizard

Paladin Wizard

    Divine Dragon god

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloriana
  • Interests:Women, Treasure, Battles, Spoils of War, Women, Arcane Items, Technological Items, and Women.

Posted 20 March 2011 - 02:30 AM

Well I received my new mobo yesterday. It took me almost two hours to take everything apart & put it back together. At first it wouldn't start up so I had to actually read the manual to make sure I had everything set up correctly for my front panel. I was able to ship the faulty mobo out today. I fell into the 15% who experienced problems with their SATA 3Gbps ports so my BD-RoOM & DVD-RW drives were disappearing at times or not connecting properly when they did show up.

My future planned upgrades are probably going to add another grand to this rig.

SSDs, one for OS and one as a game & software drive.
HT Omega sound card.
Thunderbolt controller card.

I really hope Intel makes SSDs that connect via Thunderbolt. OCZ hasn't worked all the bugs out of their HSDL SSDs.


Find QFG Import files here.


#5 Paladin Wizard

Paladin Wizard

    Divine Dragon god

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloriana
  • Interests:Women, Treasure, Battles, Spoils of War, Women, Arcane Items, Technological Items, and Women.

Posted 25 June 2012 - 08:26 PM

Well just to update this thread I have purchased a Samsung 830 128GB SSD. I had hopped to get a 256GB drive but that just wasn't in the cards at the time. Eventually I'll get a big fat SSD just as a gaming drive.

Anyway these things are so worth it. My PC was a slug at times and now it's very responsive and boots in under 15 seconds.

My only complaint is that my motherboard doesn't have a USB3 header port. So I had to get an external USB3 card reader.


Find QFG Import files here.


#6 Paladin Wizard

Paladin Wizard

    Divine Dragon god

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloriana
  • Interests:Women, Treasure, Battles, Spoils of War, Women, Arcane Items, Technological Items, and Women.

Posted 10 February 2013 - 11:14 PM

Windows 8 + Classic Shell is mostly enjoyable so far.

I also snagged a copy of Office 2013 Pro-plus for $11.56 after tax so that was awesome.


Find QFG Import files here.


#7 Elsa Von Spielburg

Elsa Von Spielburg

    Founder/Webmaster

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,637 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cyprus

Posted 15 February 2013 - 12:04 PM

You mean Windows 8 can look like Windows 7? Cause what I heard and saw so far, I don't like the new look at all.

My name is Elsa Von Spielburg and I am a Paladin.

What kind of Hero Are You?

www.theschoolforheroes.com


#8 Paladin Wizard

Paladin Wizard

    Divine Dragon god

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloriana
  • Interests:Women, Treasure, Battles, Spoils of War, Women, Arcane Items, Technological Items, and Women.

Posted 02 March 2013 - 04:26 PM

Yes, with Classic Shell you can add the start menu back in and even set it to boot win8 straight to the desktop.

I actually do try to use the Metro/Modern UI apps. But most of the software I use is desktop only.


Find QFG Import files here.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users